Jack McDaniel Memorial Fellowship

A one to three month fellowship in a European trauma clinic recognizing a practicing North America resident or fellow for exceptional interest in the area of orthopedic trauma.

Application is open March 15 to May 31, 2022.

The history of this fellowship dates back to the late 1970's when North American AO friend and colleague Jack McDaniel was tragically killed in a plane accident in the Sierras. This fellowship was named in his honor and has been awarded, yearly, to a single outstanding surgeon committed to teaching and the clinical practice of fracture surgery, as was Jack himself, an outstanding, practicing surgeon.

Prerequisites & eligibility

This fellowship is offered to North American orthopedic residents and fellows specializing in trauma surgery. Candidate must be a subscribing member of AO Trauma and have completed the following:

  • Previous participation in a Basic AO Trauma North America course
  • Previous participation in an Advanced or Specialty AO Trauma North America course
  • Practical experience with AO techniques
  • Completed all but the final year of training in their specialty at the time of activation of the fellowship OR
  • Within one year of the completion of their formal training

Applicants may only apply to one named fellowship (Henry Hanff, Jack McDaniel, John Border, or Martin Allgöwer) per year.

Funding & deliverables

The Jack McDaniel Memorial Fellowship award consists of round-trip airfare expenses up to $1,500 for standard coach fare to the site of the fellowship and a stipend to cover meals, lodging, and incidentals. The AO Trauma fellowship stipends are calculated using a benchmark of $550 USD for one week's fellowship. The fellowship award does not exceed $8,100 and support for family members is not included.

During the fellowship experience, the fellow is expected to be an active member of the orthopedic trauma service at the host clinic. Because of the prestigious nature of this fellowship, the host clinic will make every effort to expose the fellow to unique and challenging cases. Active participation as a scrubbed assistant is possible in most European clinics. The fellow will also be expected to share their ideas and perspectives with the host clinic.

The fellow will be required to submit a one-page report on their fellowship experience which will be adapted into an article for publication in the AO Trauma NA newsletter. The fellow may be asked to present a short testimonial describing their experience at the annual AO TNA Reception at OTA and/or at an AO TNA course.


How to apply

A complete application will consist of:

  • Completed application form
  • Letter of reference from the applicant's Program Director
  • Letter of reference from an appropriate sponsor (who can also be the Chief of Trauma)
  • Curriculum vitae (see below)

Curriculum vitae must include a brief autobiography and a proposal for the candidate's fellowship in the form of what they plan to do (i.e., research, gain certain clinical skills, where the candidate would like to work and with whom, how they plan on using this special training).


Apply online March 15 to May 31, 2022.

Past recipients


  • 2021: Taylor Yong, Nashville, TN
  • 2020: Jonathan Copp, Cleveland, OH
  • 2019: David Zuelzer, Lexington, KY
  • 2018: Daryl Dillman, Halifax, Canada
  • 2017: Arvind von Keudel, Boston, MA
  • 2016: Mani Kahn, Durham, NC
  • 2015: John Tidwell, Hershey, PA
  • 2014: Justin Haller, Salt Lake City, UT
  • 2013: Geoffrey Marecek, Chicago, IL
  • 2011: William Min, Sacramento, CA
  • 2008: Gregory Dikos, Indianapolis, IN
  • 2006: Michael Gardner, New York, NY
  • 2005: Rahul Banerjee, Providence, RI
  • 2004: Robert Nguyen, Boston, MA
  • 2003: Charisse Sparks, Little Rock, AK
  • 2001: Rajeev Garapati, Chicago, IL
  • 2000: Anne Sullivan, Columbus, OH
  • 1999: Jonathan Gastel, Shaker Heights, OH
  • 1998: John T.Capo, Indianapolis, IN
  • 1997: Michael Stover, Charlotte, NC
  • 1996: Langdon Hartsock, Mobile, AL
  • 1995: Theodore Mi Clau, Houston, TX
  • 1994: David Hak, Los Angeles, CA
  • 1993: Philip Kregor, Jackson, MS
  • 1991: Vincent Santoro, Hartford, CT
  • 1990: M.L. “Chip” Routt, Seattle, WA
  • 1989: Gary Gruen, Pittsburgh, PA
  • 1988: Richard Meinig, Colorado Springs, CO
  • 1987: James Montgomery
  • 1986: Roy Sanders, Tampa, FL
  • 1985: Stephen Weber, Sacramento, CA
  • 1984: Mark Swiontkowski, Seattle, WA
  • 1983: Timothy Bray, Reno, NV
  • 1982: Lex Simpson, Reno, NV 

Have a question?

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.